Fair Housing

The Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity ensures there are equal housing opportunities for all persons living in America by administering laws that prohibit discrimination in housing on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, and familial status, according to the HUD website.

It is illegal to make housing based on one of the seven protected classes. Those protected classes are:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial status
  • Handicap

The Fair Housing Act was adopted in 1968 and amended in 1988.


  • No upcoming events available at this time.


View more news


View more faqs


View more links


No downloads are available at this time.